In Stores Now 6/12

In Stores Now
Jim Beckmann

This week, French band Phoenix rises with their sixth album to date, KEXP Music Director Don Yates loves Ti Amo enough to call it "another sharply crafted set of buoyant pop-rock with a warm, streamlined sound featuring fizzy synths, glistening guitars, bouncy beats and sunny pop hooks". Brooklyn band Big Thief returns with their second release of "expansive folk-pop with a mostly intimate and hushed sound accompanying [lead singer] Adrianne Lenker's soothing soprano and imagistic lyrics countering life's hardships with resiliency and hope". And just what you need to follow that - Brooklyn-via-El Paso band Cigarettes After Sex debut with "an evocative set of noirish, bleary-eyed dream-pop combining an atmospheric, slow-burning sound with smoky, androgynous vocals and often-melancholy lyrics of love and heartbreak".

Also in stores this week is the galactic amalgam of neo-classical, prog-rock, ambient, folk, space-rock and other styles as seasoned composers Sufjan Stevens, Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly and James McAlister join for Planetarium. Another stellar album this week comes from KEXP faves London Grammar, whose second album, Truth Is A Beautiful Thing is "a sleeker, more polished take on their stately pop, combining a spacious, slow-burning sound with Hannah Reid's elegant, soaring vocals and downcast lyrics". And from the recently departed rock pioneer Chuck Berry is his final album (and first studio album since 1979's Rock It), which is "a wide-ranging set that occasionally hearkens back to the fire and wit of his classic recordings".

Look for all of these and new music from Ani DiFranco, Boogarins, Dave Depper, Kronos Quartet, Pantha Du Prince, Tindersticks, The Ruby Suns, and many others.

  • Agent blå - "Strand"
  • from Agent Blue on Kanine Records
  • All We Are - "Human"
  • from Sunny Hills on Domino Recording Co.
  • Ani DiFranco - "Play God"
  • from Binary on Righteous Babe Records
  • Big Thief - "Mythological Beauty"
  • from Capacity on Saddle Creek
  • Boogarins - Full Album Stream
  • from Lá Vem a Morte on Silliterme Produções Musicais Ltda./OAR
  • Chuck Berry - "Big Boys"
  • from Chuck on Dualtone
  • Cigarettes After Sex - "Each Time You Fall In Love"
  • from Cigarettes After Sex on Partisan Records
  • Dave Depper - "Do You Want Love?"
  • from Emotional Freedom Technique on Tender Loving Empire
  • Glen Campbell - "Adiós"
  • from Adiós (Reissue) on UMG
  • INVSN - "Immer Zu"
  • from The Beautiful Stories on Dine Alone Records
  • Junior Astronomers - "Laid Out"
  • from Body Language on Refresh Records
  • Katy Perry - "Déjà Vu"
  • from Witness on Capitol Records
  • Kirin J Callinan - "Bravado"
  • from Bravado on Terrible Records
  • Kronos Quartet - "The Butcher's Boy" (feat. Natalie Merchant)
  • from Folk Songs on Nonesuch
  • Lindsey Buckingham & Christine McVie - "In My World"
  • from Lindsey Buckingham & Christine McVie on Rhino Records
  • London Grammar - "Oh Woman Oh Man"
  • from Truth Is A Beautiful Thing on Ministry of Sound Recordings
  • Pantha du Prince - "Islands In The Sky (Ambient Version)"
  • from The Triad Remixes on Rough Trade
  • Phoenix - "Goodbye Soleil"
  • from Ti Amo on Glassnote
  • Rancid - "Where I'm Going"
  • from Trouble Maker on Hellcat/Epitaph
  • Rise Against - "House On Fire"
  • from Wolves on Virgin Records
  • The Ruby Suns - "Waterslide"
  • from Sprite Fountain on Lil Chief Records and Sellout!
  • The Secret Sisters - "He's Fine"
  • from You Don't Own Me Anymore on New West
  • Sleepy Sun - "Seaquest"
  • from Private Tales on Dine Alone Records
  • Slow Dancer - "Don't Believe"
  • from In A Mood on ATO Records
  • Sufjan Stevens, Bryce Dessner, Nico Muhly, James McAlister - "Saturn"
  • from Planetarium on 4AD
  • SZA - "Doves In The Wind" (feat. Kendrick Lamar)
  • from Ctrl on Top Dawg Entertainment/RCA Records
  • Tindersticks - "The Strangler / Percy's Dream"
  • from Minute Bodies: The intimate world of F. Percy Smith on City Slang

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 6/19

It's been six years since we last heard from Seattle-bred band Fleet Foxes, and the group return with their third LP this week. KEXP Music Director Don Yates says the album's "expansive folk-pop is their most adventurous work to date, featuring a rich, ornate sound on sprawling, shape-shifting so...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 6/5

Earlier this year, we got a sneak peek at the new alt-J album as the UK trio stopped by KEXP for an in-studio session. Now, the entire LP is out -- a release KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "their most adventurous, ranging from catchy prog-pop and solemn atmospheric folk ballads to decidedly...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site