In Stores Now 3/20

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Get ready for some two-fers on The Midday Show on KEXP: the new Spoon album is finally here! KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, the "Austin band's ninth album finds them tweaking their sound with more prominent dance beats, electronic textures and adventurous sonic touches, while still providing an abundance of indelible pop hooks." New York-via-Ridgewood, NJ band Real Estate return with their fourth LP, their first without founding member Matt Mondanile. The album "features a revamped lineup and a more expansive take on the band's jangly, surf-inflected dream-pop through a greater variety of instrumentation and time signatures, more adventurous guitar work and some subtle experimental touches."

Bright Eyes frontman Conor Oberst teams up with The Felice Brothers and veteran rock drummer Jim Keltner for a new solo album that features "full-band versions of all the songs from his last album Ruminations along with seven new ones. It adds up to an impressive set of rootsy folk-rock juxtaposing a warm sound incorporating a variety of acoustic and electric instrumentation with his often-biting and self-deprecating lyrics."

Sorority Noise share their third release. The latest from this "Connecticut band led by Cameron Boucher is their most impressive set yet of emotive, '90s-influenced rock with a dynamic, sharply crafted sound contrasting buoyant melodies and stirring sing-along choruses with Boucher's brutally honest, deeply personal lyrics revolving around depression, loss and mortality." The sixth album from Detroit duo ADULT. "features collaborations with a variety of adventurous artists including Nitzer Ebb's Douglas J. McCarthy, Swans' Michael Gira and Light Asylum's Shannon Funchess. The end result is a dark, densely produced and sometimes disorienting set of dystopian electronic grooves." And the always-prolific Ty Segall returns with a new EP for local label Suicide Squeeze, limited to 1000 copies on red vinyl.

  • Adna - "Closure"
  • from Closure on Despotz
  • ADULT. - "They're Just Words (feat. Douglas J McCarthy)"
  • from Detroit House Guests on Mute
  • Anohni - "Paradise"
  • from Paradise on Secretly Canadian
  • C.J. Ramone - "Pony"
  • from American Beauty on Fat Wreck Chords
  • Conor Oberst - "A Little Uncanny"
  • from Salutations on Nonesuch
  • The Creation - "Action Painting"
  • from Action Painting on Numero
  • Depeche Mode - "Where's the Revolution"
  • from Spirit on Columbia / Mute / Sony Music
  • Drake - "Fake Love"
  • from More Life on Young Money / Cash Money / Republic
  • Fen - "I (Pathway)"
  • from Winter on Aural Music / Code666
  • Gary Clark, Jr. - "My Baby's Gone"
  • from Live North America 2016 on Atlantic / Warner Bros.
  • Jacaszek - "Soft Music"
  • from Kwiaty on Ghostly International / Secretly Canadian
  • Jarvis Cocker / Chilly Gonzales - "Room 29"
  • from Room 29 on Deutsche Grammophon
  • JFDR - "Instant Patience"
  • from Brazil on White Sun
  • Mario Batkovic - "Quatere"
  • from Mario Batkovic on Invada
  • Milky Chance - "Cocoon"
  • from Blossom on Ignition Records
  • Paul Shaffer & the World's Most Dangerous Band - "Happy Street (feat. Bill Murray)"
  • from Paul Shaffer & the World's Most Dangerous Band on Rhino
  • Pulled Apart By Horses - "The Haze"
  • from The Haze on Amplify / Caroline
  • Real Estate - "Darling"
  • from In Mind on Domino
  • Regina Spektor - "Bleeding Heart"
  • from Live on Soundstage on BMG Soundstage
  • Rick Ross - "Trap Trap Trap ft. Young Thug, Wale"
  • from Rather You Than Me on Epic Records
  • SoMo - "Just A Man"
  • from The Answers on Republic
  • Sorority Noise - "Car"
  • from You're Not as _____ as You Think on Triple Crown Records
  • Spoon - "Can I Sit Next To You"
  • from Hot Thoughts on Matador
  • Ty Segall - "Black Magick"
  • from Sentimental Goblin EP on Suicide Squeeze
  • Zara Larsson - "So Good ft. Ty Dolla $ign"
  • from So Good on Epic

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 3/27

It's been 19 years, but we finally have a new album from The Jesus and Mary Chain! KEXP Music Director Don Yates says the Scottish siblings Jim and William Reid deliver "an impressive return-to-form that ranges from fuzzy, feedback-drenched rockers to swooning downer ballads." Coming right behind...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 3/6

They say great art can come from sadness, and that seems to be true for the new album from Grandaddy. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "the fifth album (and first in 11 years) from this reunited Modesto, CA-bred band led by Jason Lytle is an impressive return to form featuring consistently st...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site