In Stores Now 8/22

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

Windy City singer/songwriter Ryley Walker shares his third album this week, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "his strongest and most sophisticated set to date, combining fluid guitar lines, intricate rhythms and elliptical lyrics on expansive songs that masterfully blend elements of folk-rock, psych, jazz and more." Out of Colorado Springs, um, springs new music from Echo & The Eschaton, "a fine set of expansive psych-pop ranging from distortion-drenched shoegazer rock and motorik post-punk to Flaming Lips space-pop." On her fourth full-length, Lydia Loveless delivers "a well-crafted set of moody, roots-tinged rock with jangly guitars and mostly mid-tempo rhythms accompanying her emotive vocals and fiercely honest lyrics of love and loss."

New Zealand pop greats The Chills share a deluxe reissue of their 1986 singles compilation, Kaleidoscope World, a 2xLP and CD set featuring six bonus, b-sides, demos and live tracks plus an expanded gatefold cover with photos, posters, and liner notes from journalist Martin Aston. Here in the Northwest, Ages & Ages bring us "a more subtle and electronic-oriented take on their anthemic folk-pop, combining a more groove-driven sound featuring bright synths and a variety of other instrumentation with soaring harmonies and lyrics addressing the rapid gentrification of Portland." And, the soundtrack to the documentary Miss Sharon Jones! is in stores now via their own Daptone Records. It's a nice retrospective of the Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings discography, with the exclusive track "I'm Still Here."

  • Ages and Ages - "They Want More"
  • from Something to Ruin on Partisan / PTKF
  • Alex Cameron - "She's Mine"
  • from Jumping The Shark on Secretly Canadian
  • Arc Iris - "Kaleidoscope"
  • from Moon Saloon on Bella Union
  • Bayside - "Pretty Vacant"
  • from Vacancy on Hopeless Records
  • The Brotherhood of Lizards - "The World Strikes One"
  • from Lizardland: The Complete Works on Captured Tracks
  • Carl Broemel - "In The Dark"
  • from 4th of July on Stocks in Asia/Thirty Tigers
  • The Chills
  • from Kaleidoscope World on Flying Nun
  • Chris Staples - "Relatively Permanent"
  • from Golden Age on Barsuk
  • Datach'i - "Margin Of Error"
  • from System on Planet Mu
  • Dolly Parton - "Pure and Simple"
  • from Pure & Simple on RCA Nashville / Sony Music
  • Ed Harcourt - "Furnaces"
  • from Furnaces on Caroline
  • EDEN - "Sex"
  • from i think you think too much of me on Astralwerks/MCMXCV
  • Eddie Levert - "Did I Make You Go Ooh"
  • from Did I Make You Go Ooh on Blackbyrd
  • Eros and the Eschaton - "Weight of Matter"
  • from Weight of Matter on Bar/None Records
  • Factory Floor - "Dial Me In"
  • from 25 25 on DFA
  • Faith No More - "We Care A Lot"
  • from We Care A Lot reissue on Koolarrow
  • French Montana - "Lockjaw ft. Kodak Black"
  • from MC4 on Bad Boy/Epic
  • Gonjasufi - "Maniac Depressant"
  • from Callus on Warp
  • Happy Diving - "Holy Ground"
  • from Electric Soul Unity on Topshelf Recordings
  • John Paul White - "The Martyr"
  • from Beulah on Single Lock Records
  • Kaya Stewart - "In Love With A Boy"
  • from Kaya Stewart on Warner Bros.
  • Lisa Hannigan - "Music Month"
  • from At Swim on ATO
  • Lydia Loveless - "Longer"
  • from Real on Bloodshot
  • Marielle V Jakobsons - "White Sparks"
  • from Star Core on Thrill Jockey
  • MYRKUR - "Song To Hall Up High"
  • from Mausoleum on Relapse
  • Nels Cline - "Beautiful Love"
  • from Lovers on Blue Note
  • Peter Broderick - "Carried"
  • from Partners on Erased Tapes
  • Pill - "Medicine"
  • from Convenience on Mexican Summer
  • Roosevelt - "Sea"
  • from Roosevelt on City Slang
  • Ryley Walker - "The Halfwit In Me"
  • from Golden Sings That Have Been Sung on Dead Oceans
  • Sam Coomes - "Fordana"
  • from Bugger Me on No Quarter
  • Scientists - "A Place Called Bad"
  • from A Place Called Bad on Numero
  • Scott Walker - "RUN"
  • from The Childhood of a Leader OST on 4AD
  • Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
  • from Miss Sharon Jones! on Daptone
  • Skeletonwitch - "The Apothic Gloom"
  • from The Apothic Gloom on Prosthetic
  • Slow Club - "Ancient Rolling Sea"
  • from One Day All Of This Won’t Matter Anymore on Moshi Moshi
  • Soilwork - "Helsinki"
  • from Death Resonance on Nuclear Blast
  • SPC ECO - "9 Lost In A Crowd"
  • from Anomalies on Saint Marie
  • Tobacco - "Human Om"
  • from Sweatbox Dynasty on Ghostly International
  • Total Slacker - "Olympus Hills"
  • from Parallels on ONErpm/Verge
  • Turnip King - "Metonymy"
  • from Laika on Fire Talk
  • from PHOENIXXX on Planet Mu

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/29

While KEXP celebrated their landmark 1989 debut last Friday, De La Soul released their eighth album (and first in 12 years). KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "a lengthy, somewhat inconsistent set with a diverse sound ranging from funky hip hop and smooth R&B to hypnotic electro-pop and...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 8/15

LA-via-San Francisco band Thee Oh Sees return with their 11th album, a release KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls, "a more jam-oriented take on the band's adventurous blend of raw garage-rock, trippy psych-rock and motorik prog." Veteran Minneapolis duo Atmosphere release "a potent set of emotiv...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site