In Stores Now 7/11

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

It's been almost two decades, but it's finally here: the latest from Australian band The Avalanches! KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes the album as "another impressive full-length of cut-and-paste collage-pop incorporating a dizzying multitude of samples, field recordings and guests vocalists ranging from Danny Brown and Biz Markie to Father John Misty and David Berman on a variety of buoyant, groove-driven songs with sunny textures and breezy melodies."

Another triumphant return, albeit with a much shorter time span, is from The Julie Ruin, project of Kathleen Hanna (ex-Bikini Kill, Le Tigre). Yates calls it "a potent, politically charged blend of urgent garage-punk, bouncy New Wave dance-rock, '60s girl-group pop and other styles, with personal, often-scathing lyrics aimed at abusers, sexists, narcissists and other deserving targets." UK band Martha avoid the sophomore slump with their latest, "an excellent set of anthemic power-pop and garage-punk that's reminiscent at times of Superchunk and Los Campesinos. Produced by MJ of Hookworms, the album combines crunchy guitars, energetic rhythms, boisterous male/female lead vocals, sing-along choruses and bright pop hooks juxtaposed with poignant lyrics of identity and sexuality."

Atlanta trio Omni -- comprised of former members of Deerhunter and Carnivores -- unleash their debut, "a promising set of lo-fi post-punk with angular guitars and jagged rhythms." LA-via-Seattle band Big Business pare back down to the original duo of Jared Warren and Coady Willis for their fifth album. Yates describes it as "a fine set of grungy metal with rumbling bass guitar riffs, pile-driving drums and strained, half-buried vocals." And Chicago artist Moon Bros. (aka Matt Schneider) release their sixth LP, a "beautifully crafted blend of atmospheric folk, psych-rock, post-rock and more, featuring a warm, acoustic-oriented sound with intricate, finger-picked guitars, gentle rhythms, spacy pedal steel and occasional harmonica."

  • Alex Somers – “Funeral Pyre”
  • from Captain Fantastic OST on Invada
  • Aphex Twin – “CIRKLON3 [ Колхозная mix ]”
  • from Cheetah on Warp
  • The Avalanches – “Colours”
  • from Wildflower on Astralwerks
  • BadBadNotGood – “Speaking Gently”
  • from IV on Innovative Leisure
  • Ben Trickey – “Chin Up, Kid”
  • from Choke & Croon on Anthem Breath
  • Biffy Clyro – “In the Name of the Wee Man”
  • from Ellipsis on 14th Floor
  • Big Business – “Father's Day”
  • from Command Your Weather on Joyful Noise
  • Black Dice – “Big Deal”
  • from Big Deal/Last Laugh on L.I.E.S
  • Boris – “Pink”
  • from Pink reissue on Sargent House
  • Brotzmann/Parker/Drake – “Song Sentimentale”
  • from Song Sentimentale on Otoroku
  • Cassy – “This Is How We Know”
  • from Donna on Aus Music
  • Chrissy & Hawley – “My Top Twenty”
  • from Chrissy & Hawley on The Nite Owl Diner
  • Dead Can Dance – “Ocean”
  • from Dead Can Dance reissue on 4AD Music
  • Dead Can Dance – “Advent”
  • from Spleen and Ideal reissue on 4AD Music
  • Dead Can Dance – “The Carnival Is Over”
  • from Into the Labyrinth reissue on 4AD Music
  • Dinky – “Casa”
  • from Casa on Crosstown Rebels
  • Emily Jane White – “Frozen Garden”
  • from They Moved in Shadow All Together on Talitres
  • Eric Copeland – “On”
  • from Black Bubblegum on DFA
  • Frameworks – “Tangled”
  • from Smother on Deathwish
  • Gone Is Gone – “Starlight”
  • from Gone Is Gone on Rise
  • Gonno & Nick Höppner – “Spocking Fivers”
  • from Fantastic Planet on Ostgut Ton
  • Heart – “Beautiful Broken”
  • from Beautiful Broken on Concord Music Group
  • Ian William Craig – “A Single Hope”
  • from Centres on 130701 / Fat Cat
  • Inter Arma – “Transfiguration”
  • from Paradise Gallows on Relapse
  • Alcatraz Harry – “Ode To Frankfurt”
  • from DJ-Kicks/Jackmaster on !K7
  • The Julie Ruin – “I Decide”
  • from Hit Reset on Hardly Art
  • Kelsey Lu – “Morning After Coffee”
  • from Church EP on True Panther Sounds
  • King Tuff – “Hole In My Head”
  • from Wild Desire reissue on Suicide Squeeze
  • Konx-om-Pax – “Caramel”
  • from Caramel on Planet Mu
  • Left Lane Cruiser – “The Pusher”
  • from Beck in Black on Alive Naturalsound Records
  • Lindstrøm – “Closing Shot”
  • from Windings EP on Smalltown Supersound/Feedelity
  • Mark Barrott – “Cascades”
  • from Sketches from an Island, Vol. 2 on International Feel Recordings
  • Martha – “Ice Cream And Sunscreen”
  • from Blisters In the Pit of My Heart on Dirtnap Records/Fortuna Pop!
  • Minus the Bear – “This Ain't A Surfin' Movie (IQU 06 Mix)”
  • from Interpretaciones del Oso reissue on Suicide Squeeze
  • Modest Mouse / 764-Hero – “Whenever You See Fit”
  • from Whenever You See Fit reissue on Suicide Squeeze
  • Moon Bros – “These Stars”
  • from These Stars on Western Vinyl
  • Mykal Rose – “Israelites”
  • from Rasta State on VP Records
  • Omni – “Wire”
  • from Deluxe on Trouble in Mind
  • Pedro the Lion – “Letter From A Concerned Follower”
  • from Progress reissue on Suicide Squeeze
  • Radio Moscow – “250 Miles/Brain Cycles”
  • from Live in California on Alive Naturalsound Records
  • The Rave-Ups – “Positively Lost Me”
  • from Town & Country reissue on Omnivore
  • Robert De Niro / Nils Frahm / Woodkid – “Winter Morning II”
  • from Ellis [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack] on Erased Tapes Records
  • Róisín Murphy – “Mastermind”
  • from Take Her Up to Monto on Play It Again Sam
  • Schoolboy Q – “By Any Means”
  • from Blank Face on Top Dawg
  • Sean McConnell – “Holy Days”
  • from Sean McConnell on New Rounder
  • Shura – “Mastermind”
  • from Nothing's Real on Polydor
  • Slow Season – “Y'WANNA”
  • from Westing on RidingEasy
  • Tangents – “Jindabyne”
  • from Stateless on Temporary Residence
  • These Arms Are Snakes – “Prince Squid”
  • from Tail Swallower & Dove reissue on Suicide Squeeze
  • Towkio – “Feel Me Doe”
  • from Community Service 2 EP on self-released
  • TTNG – “A Chase Of Sorts”
  • from Disappointment Island on Sargent House
  • Will Downing – “Black Pearls”
  • from Black Pearls on Shanachie
  • Wymond Miles – “Divided In Two”
  • from Call by Night on Sacred Bones
  • Young Greatness – “Talk My Shit”
  • from I Tried To Tell Em 2 on Quality Control/Motown

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 7/18

This week, New Jersey producer Clams Casino hits a jackpot with his first official album. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls it, "a strong set of expansive hip hop and R&B with woozy soundscapes combining atmospheric synths, spacy ambient noise and trunk-rattling beats with an impressive gue...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 7/4

There's some pretty great releases for a holiday weekend, like the third LP from Dev Hynes — a.k.a. Blood Orange. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls the album "another masterful set of expansive, moody R&B blended with funk, synth-pop and other styles, combining a diverse sound and a variety...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site