In Stores Now 2/15

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

KEXP premiered an album stream of the latest from Portland band Radiation City last week, and it's now in stores. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes their latest, "features a more synth-driven sound for their eclectic dream-pop, combining bright synths and glittering guitars with funk-inflected rhythms, ethereal vocals and sparkling pop hooks."

Longtime KEXP faves Cloud Cult return with their 10th studio album, which also functions as a soundtrack to the new film of the same name scripted by frontman Craig Minowa and directed by Jeff D. Johnson. "As for the album, it's a lengthy set combining a heart-tugging orchestral folk-pop sound with lyrics revolving around the meaning of life."

Montclair, NJ band Pinegrove debut with "a strong set of anthemic, folk-tinged indie-rock combining guitars and occasional rootsy instrumentation and shifting rhythms with Evan Stephens Hall's sardonic vocals and knotty, emotive lyrics." Brooklyn-via-Sydney, Australia duo High Highs offer up "a mostly subdued, ballad-heavy set of glossy, '80s-tinged pop with an atmospheric sound combining gleaming synths and guitars with soft vocals and ethereal harmonies." Vancouver, BC group You Say Party return with their fourth album (and first in six years), a self-titled LP that "finds them dramatically reinventing their sound by moving away from scrappy dance-punk and instead embracing brooding and atmospheric dream-pop." And London trio Flowers share "an impressive set of fuzzy, '90s-steeped pop-rock with distorted guitars, metronomic rhythms, celestial vocals and sugary pop hooks."

  • Avishai Cohen
  • from Into the Silence on ECM
  • Barbara Mandrell – “This Time I Almost Made It”
  • from This Time I Almost Made It: The Lost Columbia Masters on Real Gone Music
  • Basia Bulat – “Fool”
  • from Good Advice on Secret City Records
  • Charles Bradley & the Menahan Street Band
  • from Live from the House of Soul on Daptone Records
  • Cloud Cult – “No Hell”
  • from The Seeker on Earthology
  • Dâm-Funk – “Special Friends”
  • from O.B.E./Special Friends 7" on Stones Throw
  • David Vassalotti – “Ines De Castro”
  • from Broken Rope on Wharf Cat
  • Day Wave – “Gone”
  • from Stuck on Fat Possum
  • Dion – “New York Is My Home”
  • from New York Is My Home on Instant Records
  • The Donkeys – “Hurt Somebody”
  • from Midnight Palms on Easy Sound Recording Company
  • Drunken Barn Dance – “Churches”
  • from Big Bend on Quite Scientific
  • Flowers – “Bitter Pill”
  • from Everyone's Dying to Meet You on Kanine/Fortuna Pop!
  • The Frights – “Kids”
  • from You Are Going to Hate This on Dangerbird Records
  • Goatblood / Nihil Domination – “Witness of the Ending World”
  • from Supremacia de Satanas on Dunkelheit
  • High Highs – “How Could You Know”
  • from Cascades on Never Leave Never Sleep / PIAS
  • James Supercave – “Burn”
  • from Better Strange on Fairfax Recordings
  • The Jezabels – “Come Alive”
  • from Synthia on MGM
  • Kula Shaker – “Infinite Sun”
  • from K 2.0 on Strangefolk
  • Lacey Sturm – “Feels Like Forever”
  • from Life Screams on Followspot Records
  • Lissie – “Hero”
  • from My Wild West on Cooking Vinyl
  • Lost Society – “I Am The Antidote”
  • from Braindead on Nuclear Blast
  • Magrudergrind – “Regressive Agenda”
  • from II on Relapse Records
  • Michel Benita / Ethics – “Piste 1”
  • from River Silver on ECM
  • Pete Namlook / Klaus Schulze – “Dark Side Of The Moog”
  • from The Dark Side of the Moog, Vols. 1-4 on MIG Music
  • Pete Astor – “My Right Hand”
  • from Spilt Milk on Slumberland
  • Pinegrove – “Old Friends”
  • from Cardinal on Run for Cover Records
  • Posse – “Voices”
  • from Perfect H 7" on Wharf Cat
  • Radiation City – “Milky White”
  • from Synesthetica on Polyvinyl
  • The Record Company – “Off The Ground”
  • from Give It Back To You on Concord Music Group
  • Roger Watkins
  • from Last House on Dead End Street soundtrack on Light in the Attic Records
  • Rokia Traoré – “Né So”
  • from Né So on Nonesuch
  • School of Seven Bells – “Ablaze”
  • from SVIIB on Vagrant
  • The Skiffle Players – “Til Stone Day Comes”
  • from Skifflin' on Spiritual Pajamas
  • Thee Oh Sees – “Fortress”
  • from "Fortress" b/w "Man in a Suitcase" 7" on Castle Face
  • True Love Always – “Summer Trains and Tears”
  • from Return of the Wild Style Fashionists EP on Teenbeat
  • T.W. Walsh – “Young Rebels”
  • from Fruitless Research on Graveface Records
  • Wynonna & the Big Noise – “Things That I Lean On”
  • from Wynonna & the Big Noise on Curb Records
  • You Say Party – “Underside”
  • from You Say Party on Paper Bag Records

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

In Stores Now 2/22

The highly-anticipated tenth full-length from experimental-pop group Animal Collective hit stores last Friday. The album features contributions from John Cale and Colin Stetson. Brooklyn band Wild Nothing return with their third LP. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "this Brooklyn-via-Virginia...

Read More
In Stores Now

In Stores Now 2/8

Get ready to wrap yourself in Big Black Coat, the fifth album (and first in five years) from Canadian duo Junior Boys. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls the release, "a more forceful, rhythm-driven take on their spacious electro-pop, masterfully blending house, techno and disco grooves with R&a...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site