Out This Week 6/30

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

With Independence Day right around the corner, it's great to see so many new releases out this week on independent labels! Highlights include the debut album from former Late Of The Pier frontman Sam Dust (aka LA Priest). KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes it as "a fine set of eccentric, psych-tinged electro-pop ranging from warped, ‘80s-steeped dance-pop and trippy psych-funk grooves to space-rock ballads and more experimental fare."

The legendary Neil Young shares his thirty-sixth studio album, a collaboration with Willie Nelson's sons Lukas and Micah, backed by the Lukas's band Promise of the Real. The release, titled The Monsanto Years, is a concept album criticizing the infamous agrochemical and agricultural biotechnology corporation. Fittingly, it was during the 2014 Farm Aid benefit concert that Young and the young Nelson siblings began the project.

Milwaukee band Jaill return with "a revamped lineup and a bit more polished sound for their jangly garage-pop." L.A. band Failure return with their first new album in 19 years, "a solid set of moody, psych-tinged hard rock with grungy guitars, muscular rhythms and potent song hooks." Swedish hardcore punk band Refused also return with their first new album since 1998's The Shape of Punk to Come. Matt Pond PA share their 10th full length, The State of Gold, another excellent set of orchestral indie-pop songs.

  • August Burns Red – “The Wake”
  • from Found in Far Away Places on Fearless Records
  • Bilal – “Pleasure Toy" feat. Big K.R.I.T.
  • from In Another Life on eOne
  • Cut Up – “Burial Time”
  • from Forensic Nightmares on Metal Blade
  • DJ Vadim & Sena – “Grow Slow”
  • from Grow Slow on BBE
  • Failure – “Hot Traveler”
  • from The Heart Is a Monster on INresidence
  • Goblin Rebirth – “Requiem for X”
  • from Goblin Rebirth on Relapse Records
  • Good Old War – “Tell Me What You Want From Me”
  • from Broken Into Better Shape on Nettwerk
  • Jaill – “Got An F”
  • from Brain Cream on Burger Records
  • LA Priest – “Party Zute / Learning To Love”
  • from Inji on Domino
  • The Legends – “Keep Him”
  • from It's Love on Cascine
  • Matchess – “The Law Of Pure Will (or, The Lamentation Of The Greatest Wealth)”
  • from Somnaphoria on Trouble in Mind
  • matt pond PA – “Take Me With You”
  • from The State of Gold on Doghouse
  • Neil Young + Promise of the Real – “Wolf Moon”
  • from The Monsanto Years on Reprise / WB
  • Refused – “Dawkins Christ”
  • from Freedom on Epitaph
  • Self Defense Family – “Dave Sim”
  • from Heaven Is Earth on Deathwish Inc.
  • Senses Fail – “The Courage Of An Open Heart”
  • from Pull the Thorns from Your Heart on Pure Noise
  • Stevie Stone – “Rain Dance ft. Tech N9ne & Mystikal”
  • from Malta Bend on Strange Music
  • Twin Danger – “Sailor”
  • from Twin Danger on Universal
  • The Velvet Teen – “The Giving In”
  • from All Is Illusory on Top Shelf Records
  • Vince Staples – “Señorita”
  • from Summertime '06 on Def Jam

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 6/23

Kick off the summer solstice with these great releases! UK band Wolf Alice release their debut full-length, which KEXP's Music Director Don Yates describes as "an expansive blend of ethereal dream-pop, shoegazer psych-rock, bristling grunge-pop and much more, with a dynamic, wide-ranging sound on...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site