Wednesday Music News

Daily Roundups
Janice Headley
photo by James Bailey (view set)

  • LCD Soundsystem may have called it quits, but frontman James Murphy is keeping busy. The prolific musician/producer has composed the soundtrack to the new Noah Baumbach film While We're Young, which stars Ben Stiller, Naomi Watts, Amanda Seyfried, Adam Driver, and Beastie Boys' Ad-Rock. Stream the track exclusively at Pitchfork, and check out a trailer for the film below. [Pitchfork]

  • This week's KEXP in-studio guests Stars share a new video today for their track "Trap Door" from their fantastic, danceable release No One Is Lost. In a press release, frontman Torquil Campbell states, "Welcome to the new Stars video, where three things are confirmed. One, Torq is a bit of a dick. Two, videos are made out of fear. Three, Stars play fucking great rock shows. We hope you enjoy discovering these facts for yourself." Check it out below, and check out Monday's KEXP in-studio session here. [Under the Radar]

  • Alt-rock legends Violent Femmes return with their first new track in 15 years: steam the single "Love Love Love Love Love" below, which the band describes as “an ode to old-fashioned romance” with a bit of Southwestern bossa nova flair. The band say they'll record more new material in the spring. Violent Femmes will go wild in Seattle on Sunday, July 26th, playing with Barenaked Ladies and Colin Hay of Men at Work. [Consequence of Sound]

  • It's been a couple of years, but Brooklyn duo Tanlines return with their sophomore Highlights. They recorded the new album in a 100 year-old church with Grizzly Bear's Chris Taylor, and a press release states "the unfamiliar settings and Taylor’s energy and enthusiasm pushed the music further." Check out the first single "Slipping Away" below. Highlights hits stores May 19th via True Panther. [Stereogum]

Related News & Reviews

Daily Roundups

Thursday Music News

Bay Area bashers Thee Oh Sees return this Spring with their ninth album, Mutilator Defeated At Last. Stream the first single "Web" below. This time around, the line-up consists of mainstay frontman John Dwyer (vocals, guitar), Tim Hellman (bass), Nick Murray (drums), Brigid Dawson (keyboard and ...

Read More
Local Music Daily Roundups

Tuesday Music News

Berkeley-based beatmaker Toro y Moi (aka Chaz Bundick) shares a new track from his forthcoming fourth album, What For?. Check out the super-suave '70s-sound of "Buffalo" below. What For? hits stores April 7th via Carpark Records. While you wait, revisit his 2013 KEXP session here. [Pitchfork]

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site