Out This Week 3/3

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

They say March is "in like a lion, out like a lamb," and out this week is the sophomore release from Lady Lamb (formerly Lady Lamb The Beekeeper)! KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the release is "a bolder, more direct-sounding album with a dynamic indie-pop sound featuring driving rhythms, guitars and keyboards along with occasional horns, strings and other instrumentation accompanying her impassioned vocals and poetic, emotionally evocative lyrics."

Other highlights include the latest from Canadian duo Purity Ring whose "masterful second album features a cleaner, more polished and dynamic sound for their brooding, hip hop-inflected electro-pop, combining dark, fuzzy synths, cold trap beats and trunk-rattling bass with wistful melodies and Megan James’ ethereal vocals and emotive lyrics." Wooden Shjips guitarist Ripley Johnson and keyboardist Sanae Yamada, aka Moon Duo, share their "third album of droning space-rock, which also happens to be their most potent set to date, with more brightly melodic and sharply defined songs combining fuzzy guitar riffing, eerie keyboards and hypnotic motorik rhythms."

Local singer-songwriter Brandi Carlile shares her fifth full-length, "ranging from reflective ballads to bluesy stompers." Reunited UK shoegazers Swervedriver share their first new album in 17 years. And Of Montreal return with their 13th release, a "quirky blend of psych-pop, glam, funk, dance-rock and more, combining a busy, densely produced sound with dark lyrics of a world gone wrong and relationships falling apart."

  • (Various Artists) Jesus Wayne – “The Chicago Party Theme”
  • from Ultra-High Frequencies: The Chicago Party on Numero
  • Andrew Combs – “Pearl”
  • from All These Dreams on Coin Records/Thirty Tigers
  • Au.Ra – “Juki”
  • from Jane's Lament on Felte
  • Beech Creeps – “Times Be Short”
  • from Beech Creeps on Monofonus Press
  • Brandi Carlile – “The Eye”
  • from The Firewatcher's Daughter on ATO Records
  • Brodinski – “Minimix”
  • from Brava on Parlophone
  • Buxton – “Icebreaker”
  • from Half a Native on New West
  • Cannibal Ox – “Psalm 82”
  • from Blade of the Ronin on IGC/iHipHop
  • Coastal – “We Drink To Remember”
  • from Beneath the Snow and Streetlights on Words On Music
  • Darren Hanlon – “When You Go”
  • from Where Did You Come From? on Flippin Yeah Industries
  • Destruction Unit – “Bumpy Road”
  • from Live in San Francisco on Castle Face
  • Dorthia Cottrell – “Gold”
  • from Dorthia Cottrell on Forcefield
  • Echo Lake – “Waves”
  • from Era on No Pain in Pop
  • Gateway Drugs – “Friday's Are For Suckers”
  • from Magick Spells on Cobraside
  • George Benson – “This Masquerade”
  • from The Ultimate Collection compilation on Rhino
  • Ghostpoet – “Off Peak Dreams”
  • from Shedding Skin on PIAS
  • Gill Landry – “Just Like You”
  • from Gill Landry on ATO
  • Jeff Rosenstock – “Beers Again Alone”
  • from We Cool? on Side One Dummy
  • Jerry Williams – “Easy On Yourself”
  • from Gone reissue on Real Gone
  • Jon Hopkins – “I Remember”
  • from LateNightTales on LateNightTales
  • Kaki King – “Anthropomorph”
  • from The Neck Is A Bridge To The Body on Short Stuff Records
  • Lady Lamb – “Billions of Eyes”
  • from After on Mom + Pop
  • Lotic – “Heterocetera”
  • from Heterocetera on Tri Angle
  • Moon Duo – “Animal”
  • from Shadow of the Sun on Sacred Bones
  • Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds – “Ballad Of The Mighty”
  • from Chasing Yesterday on Sour Mash
  • Of Montreal – “Bassem Sabry”
  • from Aureate Gloom on Polyvinyl
  • Model 500 – “Digital Solutions”
  • from Digital Solutions on Metroplex
  • Parquet Courts – “Sunbathing Animal”
  • from Live at Third Man Records on Third Man Records
  • Purity Ring – “Begin Again”
  • from Another Eternity on 4AD
  • Steven Wilson – “First Regret / 3 Years Older”
  • from Hand.Cannot.Erase. on Kscope
  • Stones – “See Red”
  • from Three Blind Mice reissue on Flying Nun
  • Swervedriver – “Setting Sun”
  • from I Wasn't Born to Lose You on Cobraside
  • Tom Brosseau – “Roll Along With Me”
  • from Perfect Abandon on Tin Angel
  • Tuxedo – “Number One”
  • from Tuxedo on Stones Throw
  • White Plains – “My Baby Loves Lovin'”
  • from The Deram Records Singles Collection on 7T's
  • Yonatan Gat – “East To West”
  • from Director on Joyful Noise

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 3/10

This week, soulster Matthew E. White unleashes his sophomore full-length Fresh Blood, which KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes as "a well-crafted set of soul-inflected pop, featuring a warm, full-bodied though intimate sound, impeccably arranged with lush strings, soulful horns, piano, soft ...

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 2/24

Following yesterday's hypnotic in-studio session on The Midday Show on KEXP, local ladies THEESatisfaction release their sophomore album EarthEE today via Sub Pop. KEXP Music Director Don Yates describes it as an "entrancing blend of Afro-futurist hip hop, cosmic R&B, psychedelic funk and ast...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site