Out This Week 2/10

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

This Valentine's Day week, it's appropriate that Father John Misty releases his sophomore full-length, I Love You, Honeybear. KEXP Music Director Don Yates calls the release, "a masterful, more fully realized set of sophisticated ‘70s-steeped pop. With Jonathan Wilson again enlisted as producer, the album features a warm, sumptuous sound combining acoustic and electric guitars, piano, strings, horns, harps and more on beautifully crafted songs of love with soaring harmonies and rich melodies, along with Tillman’s soulful vocals and finely chiseled lyrics blending biting satire with heartfelt poignancy."

The Districts also release their second album today, "a potent set of anthemic indie-rock, with in-demand indie-rock producer John Congleton helping provide the band with a more muscular and fleshed-out sound than their 2013 debut Telephone, combining loud, rumbling guitars and pounding rhythms with monster song hooks and angst-fueled lyrics." Brooklyn-based producer Braille (aka Praveen Sharma, also one-half of Sepalcure alongside Machinedrum) releases "another absorbing set of warm soulful grooves that implement the same emotive style found on Sepalcure's innovative releases, albeit at a predominantly slower yet still hypnotic tempo."

Paris-based duo The Dø (Finnish vocalist Olivia Merilahti and French multi-instrumentalist Dan Levy) "ditched the acoustic instruments that colored their previous releases in favor of a more keyboard-oriented sound for their third album. It’s a strong set of emotive electro-pop combining bright synths and other keyboards with aching vocals and moody melodies." JD McPherson lets the good times roll on his second album, "another sharply crafted blend of jump blues and ‘50s rock ‘n’ roll, though this time featuring a more reverb-laden sound with buzzing electric guitars, rollicking piano, in-the-pocket rhythms, occasional honking sax and confident, dynamic vocals." And on the heels of her Grammy win for Best Alternative Music Album, St. Vincent release a deluxe edition of her self-titled full-length, containing five bonus tracks, including the previously unreleased track "Bad Believer."

  • 6 String Drag – “I Miss The Drive-In”
  • from Roots Rock 'n' Roll on Royal Potato Family Records
  • ALSO – “Blyford Bass”
  • from EP2 on R&S
  • Blackberry Smoke – “Rock And Roll Again”
  • from Holding All the Roses on New Rounder
  • Braille – “Too Forward”
  • from Everyone's Crazy EP on Friends of Friends
  • Caught on Tape [Thurston Moore / John Moloney] – “Full Bleed”
  • from Full Bleed on Northern Spy Records
  • Crushed Beaks – “Overgrown”
  • from Scatter on Matilda Records / Moshi Moshi Records
  • Cypress Grove / Lydia Lunch / Spiritual Front – “Hotel California (Eagles Cover)”
  • from Twin Horses on Rustblade
  • The Districts – “Peaches”
  • from A Flourish and a Spoil on Fat Possum
  • The Dø – “Trustful Hands”
  • from Shake Shook Shaken on Get Down!
  • Duke Garwood – “Heavy Love”
  • from Heavy Love on Heavenly
  • Father John Misty – “Chateau Lobby #4 (in C for Two Virgins)”
  • from I Love You, Honeybear on Sub Pop
  • The Fireworks – “With My Heart”
  • from Switch Me On on Shelflife
  • Gretchen Peters – “Blackbirds”
  • from Blackbirds on Proper Records
  • JD McPherson – “Let The Good Times Roll”
  • from Let the Good Times Roll on New Rounder
  • Jeff Austin – “The Simple Truth”
  • from The Simple Truth on Yep Roc
  • Jefre Cantu-Ledesma – “Love After Love”
  • from A Year with 13 Moons on Mexican Summer
  • Johan Agebjörn – “You Passed Through (with Young Galaxy)”
  • from Notes on Paper Bag Records
  • Juan Gabriel – “Querida ft. Juanes”
  • from Los Dúo on Fonovisa
  • Kath Bloom – “Criminal Side”
  • from Pass Through Here on Chapter Music
  • Luke Haines – “Caravan Man”
  • from Adventures in Dementia: A Micro Opera on Outsider Music
  • Martin Sexton – “You (My Mind is Woo)”
  • from Mixtape of the Open Road on Kitchen Table Records
  • NOFX – “Seeping Beauty”
  • from Home Street Home: Original Songs from the Shit Musical on Fat Wreck Chords
  • Peace – “World Pleasure”
  • from Happy People on Columbia
  • Quarterbacks – “Center”
  • from Quarterbacks on Team Love Records
  • Raheem DeVaughn – “Temperature's Rising”
  • from Love Sex Passion on eOne
  • Retox – “Let's Not Keep In Touch”
  • from Beneath California on Epitaph
  • Rhiannon Giddens – “Don't Let It Trouble Your Mind”
  • from Tomorrow Is My Turn on Nonesuch
  • Robert Earl Keen, Jr. – “Footprints In The Snow”
  • from Happy Prisoner: The Bluegrass Sessions on Dualtone Music
  • Rone – “OUIJA”
  • from Creatures on InFiné
  • St. Vincent – “Bad Believer”
  • from St. Vincent [deluxe edition] on Concord Loma Vista
  • The Unthanks – “Mount The Air”
  • from Mount the Air on Rabble Rouser Records
  • Vijay Iyer Trio – “Break Stuff”
  • from Break Stuff on ECM
  • Vision Fortune – “Dry Mouth”
  • from Country Music on ATP Recordings
  • William Ryan Fritch – “Heavy”
  • from Revisionist on Lost Tribe

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 2/17

KEXP Music Director Don Yates has declared the debut release from Ibeyi as his "Pick of the Week." He notes, "the debut album from the young Paris-based French-Cuban twin-sister duo of Naomi and Lisa-Kainde Diaz (who are also both daughters of the acclaimed Cuban percussionist Miguel “Anga” Diaz)...

Read More
In Stores Now

Out This Week 2/3

The legendary Bob Dylan releases "an album of vintage songs associated with legendary crooner Frank Sinatra." KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes, "it works beautifully, with spare, low-key accompaniment (ethereal pedal steel, softly plucked bass, gentle guitars and occasional muted brass) and hi...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site