Out This Week 9/29

In Stores Now
Janice Headley

As we mentioned in today's Music News round-up, Prince has returned with not one, but two new albums this week: a solo album titled Art Official Age, and one with his band 3rdEyeGirl called PlectrumElectrum.

Famed Scottish indiepop duo The Vaselines also return today with the album V For Vaselines. KEXP Music Director Don Yates notes the album "finds them adopting a bigger, punchier sound and bringing a brasher, Ramones-inspired punk edge to their jangly twee-pop, with loud, fuzzy guitars and energetic rhythms bolstering the duo’s effervescent harmonies, sparkling pop hooks and often-dark lyrics."

Former Girls frontman Christopher Owens shares his second solo album, which "finds him hooking up with some of his former bandmates while also blending elements of R&B, country and gospel into his wistful pop-rock for a strong set of rootsy tunes combining acoustic and electric guitars, pealing pedal steel and occasional gospel backing vocals with Owens’ breathy vocals and heartfelt, deeply personal lyrics of love, regrets and redemption." (Owens will be LIVE on KEXP on Tuesday, October 7th at 1:00 PM PST.) UK band The History Of Apple Pie share their sophomore serving of "‘90s-influenced fuzz-pop with distorted shoegazerish guitars, atmospheric keyboards, soft vocals and sugary pop melodies." JEFF the Brotherhood release their covers EP, Dig the Classics. The third album from The Rural Alberta Advantage "features a bigger, more polished sound for their anthemic folk-pop, combining acoustic and electric guitars, keyboards and prominent percussion with stirring melodies, sing-along choruses and heartfelt lyrics of love and loss." And the debut from duo Electric Youth "is a promising set of moody electro-pop with twinkling synths, ethereal vocals and wistful melodies."

  • 3rdEyeGirl / Prince - "Clouds"
  • from PlectrumElectrum on Warner Bros.
  • Alice Gerrard - "Boll Weevil"
  • from Follow the Music on Tompkins Square
  • Christopher Owens - "Never Wanna See That Look Again"
  • from A New Testament on Turnstile
  • Ed Motta - "S.O.S Amor"
  • from AOR on Tummy Touch
  • Electric Youth - "Runaway"
  • from Innerworld on Secretly Canadian
  • Estrogen Highs - "Argyle Enthusiast"
  • from Hear Me on the Number Station on Trouble in Mind
  • The History of Apple Pie - "Jamais Vu"
  • from Feel Something on Marshall Teller
  • JEFF the Brotherhood - "Something in the Way" (Nirvana cover)
  • from Dig the Classics on Warner Bros.
  • Jimbo Mathus - "Hiway At Night"
  • from Jimmy the Kid reissue on Big Legal Mess Records / Fat Possum
  • Kat Edmonson - "Oh My Love"
  • from The Big Picture on Masterworks
  • The Limiñanas - "A Dead Swan"
  • from I've Got Trouble in Mind: 7" and Rare Stuff 2009-2014 on Trouble in Mind
  • Lucinda Williams - "West Memphis"
  • from Down Where the Spirit Meets the Bone on Highway 20 Records
  • Luke Winslow-King - "Everlasting Arms"
  • from Everlasting Arms on Bloodshot
  • Lydia Ainsworth - "White Shadows"
  • from Right from Real on Arbutus Records
  • Oasis - "Morning Glory"
  • from (What's The Story) Morning Glory? reissue on Big Brother Recordings
  • Ólöf Arnalds - "Half Steady"
  • from Palme on One Little Indian
  • Paul White - "Shaker Notes"
  • from Shaker Notes on R&S
  • Pieta Brown - "Flowers Of Love"
  • from Paradise Outlaw on Red House Records
  • The Pine Hill Haints - "Ms. Pacman"
  • from The Magik Sounds of the Pine Hill Haints on K Records
  • Populous - "Fall (feat. Cuushe)"
  • from Night Safari on Bad Panda Records / Folk Wisdom
  • Prince - "U Know"
  • from Art Official Age on Warner Bros.
  • Ritual Howls - "The Taste Of You"
  • from Turkish Leather on Felte
  • Ruby Fray - "Barbara"
  • from Grackle on K Records
  • The Rural Alberta Advantage - "On The Rocks"
  • from Mended with Gold on Saddle Creek Records
  • Sam Amidon - "Walkin’ Boss"
  • from Lily-O on Nonesuch
  • Sea Oleena - "If I'm"
  • from Shallow on Lefse Records
  • Sick of It All - "Road Less Traveled"
  • from Last Act of Defiance on Century Media
  • St. Christopher - "Gabriel"
  • from Forevermore Starts Here: Anthology 1984-2010 on Cherry Red
  • Steve Arrington's Hall of Fame - "The Message"
  • from Way Out: 80-84 on Tummy Touch
  • Team Spirit - "Teenage Heart"
  • from Killing Time on Vice Records / Warner Bros.
  • Torch Runner - "Godlust"
  • from Endless Nothing on Southern Lord Records
  • The Vaselines - "One Lost Year"
  • from V for Vaselines on Rosary
  • Yelle - "Complètement Fou"
  • from Complètement Fou on Kemosabe Records

Related News & Reviews

In Stores Now

Out This Week 9/23

It's the first day of Autumn, and the new releases are falling all over the place. The sophomore release from Alt-J is finally officially out. KEXP's Music Director Don Yates notes, "this English band carries on with their second album, a generally more subdued, organic and atmospheric take on th...

Read More
Click anywhere to return to the site